Search and verify licenses
Montana Driver License

Montana Driver License

Whether you just moved to the state of Montana or reached the acceptable age to drive, you must get a Montana driver’s license to practice driving without violating the law.

Steps to get a Montana learner driver’s license

If you are between the ages of 14½ and 18, then you will be eligible for a learner’s (instruction) permit. It will give you permission to practice supervised driving until you reach the age of obtaining a full adult driver’s license. To clarify, with this license you will be a Class D vehicle when accompanied by a licensed driver.

License requirements

  • Above all, you must be at least 14½ years old
  • Secondly, you should complete driver education by attending an approved traffic education coursework
  • Then, you must visit a Montana driver license station and bring your parent/parents (or guardian) with you
  • Your parents should give their consent for the practice of driving and take responsibility for you (including financial affairs)
  • You should also present appropriate documentation, which will help the process
  • Then you must pass the vision test and see, if you are capable of driving safely
  • The next step is to take and pass the written test, which contain questions on traffic rules
  • Finally, the last step is to pay the required fees and receive the license, which is valid for one calendar year

It is important to know that those, who have not completed traffic education, will be eligible to apply for the license when they are 16 years old or older.

Appropriate documentation

  • Proof of identity (for example, a valid US passport, unexpired passport card and so on)
  • A certified copy of a birth certificate issued by a US jurisdiction
  • Two primary documents (or one primary, one secondary) showing proof of your full legal name and birth date
  • Proof of Montana residency (for example, income tax return, a receipt for personal or real property taxes, home mortgage or equity loan papers)
  • Evidence of legal presence (in case needed)

Steps to get a restricted driver’s license in Montana

To be eligible to apply for a restricted driver’s license, you must:

  • Hold your learner’s (instruction) permit for at least six months
  • Have your parent’s consent (responsibility for financial damages)
  • Gain at least 50 hours of experience of practice driving, being supervised by licensed adult driver (10 of those hours should include nighttime driving)
  • Schedule an appointment for visiting a Montana driver license station
  • Apply for the license, by completing the application form
  • Bring required documents to support the process of licensing
  • Pass the road test, showing your driving skills, as well as pay the required license fee of $5

You should submit the following documents

  • Current learner’s permit
  • Documents showing your identity and Montana residential address
  • Evidence of legal presence in the United States
  • Certificate of vehicle registrationInsurance papers

Driving restrictions

This license is not called a restricted driver’s license for no reason and, thus, there are some restrictions to follow. You can check the list of driving restrictions below:

  • Always wearing a seatbelt when driving (this refers to all passengers)
  • Not driving between 11:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. (except for emergencies, farm-related activities, school, church and work)
  • Not carrying more than one unrelated passenger (under 18 years old) for the first six months, and three passengers for the next six months

How to get a full (adult) Montana driver’s license

Once you turn 18, you will be eligible to apply for the full driver’s license in Montana. The latter will allow you to operate a Class D vehicle without restrictions. In addition to this, you can apply for the license if you have your learner’s permit. On the other hand, if you do not have it, you will need to complete the steps mentioned above before getting the driver’s license.

Those, who hold their instruction permit, will need to pass the road test, have their photo taken and pay the license fee. After that, they can receive the license in about two or four weeks.

How to renew a Montana driver’s license

If you want to keep your driver’s license valid, then you should renew it before the expiration date. In addition to this, you can renew the license six months before it is due to expire.

In person

It is required to renew the license in person for those, who are under 21 and older than 69 years of age. Besides, those, who renewed their license by mail the last time or have changed their name, will also need to complete the process in person.

To renew, you should visit a MDV office, request license renewal by completing the given application form and pay the renewal fee. You should also present documents of identity, residence and legal presence in the state.

Note that the facility will also ask you to take a vision test to see, whether you have maintained your eyesight for safe driving.

Online

You can renew the license online providing that you are between 21 and 69 years of age and have not changed your name. Online renewal is mainly suitable for persons, who have still got time before the license expires, and who have not renew the license by mail the last time.

By mail

If you are currently out of state or out of country, then you have the opportunity to renew the driver’s license by mail.

To renew, you must complete the application form, include the payment and send the application letter to the given address.

Mailing Address

DOJ-MVD
ATTN: Mail-In DL
P.O. Box 201430
Helena, MT 59620-1430

Montana driver’s license classifications

Class D

This license, in short, allows you to operate any non-commercial motor vehicle under 26,000 pounds gross vehicle weight (GVWR).

Class A (Commercial)

The license, actually, gives permission to operate any combination of vehicles with gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 26,001 pounds.

Class B (Commercial)

This license, in short, permits the license holder to operate any vehicle with GVWR of 26,001 pounds.

Class C (Commercial)

To clarify, this license is suitable and used for transporting 16 or more passengers, and for hazardous materials.

M Endorsement

This one, in short, makes it possible to operate a motorcycle or any motorized two-wheel or three-wheel vehicle, classified as a motorcycle, on public roadways.

Montana driver’s license for flying

A Montana driver’s license can be a valid and acceptable form of identification required to fly domestically and access federal facilities.

Seda S

Seda has four years of professional experience as a multilingual content writer. She employs SEO principles and rules to come up with original and SEO-friendly articles. Seda also has editing, proofreading, researching, and translating skills, which help to produce better content. She has written a number of articles for a wide range of websites that look for unique and genuine content. She has written targeted content for consumer portions, and she is specialized in writing guest posts, digital marketing, wellness, beauty, and other articles. Furthermore, she has prepared guides and helping materials for websites, which help people seeking licensure in all areas. Seda has also used brand new writing techniques and style based on the article while contributing to readability, accuracy, and tonality.

US License Lookup by State

US
License
Lookup
by
State